home Bytes Our IPL 12 team of the Tournament

Our IPL 12 team of the Tournament

This exciting season of the IPL could not have had a better finish to the tournament than the one that we witnessed. Many players were hits and many were flops, here is Pakaugiri’s team of the tournament.


David Warner

After returning to the IPL post the ‘sanpapergate’ saga, Warner returned to the IPL with 8 fifties and a hundred with a staggering average of 69.20 and 692 runs in just 12 games!!! He is undoubtedly the opener of any IPL-12 XI.

Shikhar Dhawan

The second openers spot was quite debatable, but Dhawan just overtook KL Rahul for this position, Dhawan solely made it to the XI looking at the time his knocks came at. Whereas most of the latter’s innings came when the match already slipped from his team’s hands. Also, Dhawan and Warner have batted together in the pat and make a formidable opening pair.

Shreyas Iyer

He had a season to remember, did Shreyas Iyer, delightful stroke play out there in the middle saved his team from many threatening situations but he kept calm and guided his team with perfection, both with the bat and as a captain. However, in our team Shreyas won’t make it to the skipper’s role as there are other frontrunners

Rishabh Pant

The flamboyant left hander didn’t have as a good as a season like he did in the previous edition but still was a good performer. He had many matches to remember. Though he couldn’t get them over the line on few occasions he did well. This is the reason he is at number 4 to play his natural game and not worry about finishing games.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicket keeper)

MS Dhoni has had a fantabulous season with a swashbuckling average of 83.20!!! The CSK skipper was more of a one man army on more than one occasion and he walks into this side without much doubt. The veteran would also captain the side and keep wickets.  

Andre Russell

The MVP and the man with the highest strike rate of the season. There is no debate whatsoever on his selection, he was the lone warrior for the Kolkata Knight Riders and single handedly won them many games. He needs no more justification.

Hardik Pandya

India’s Dre Russ isn’t he? The all-rounder had his best season of the IPL, scoring 402 runs, most of them coming at the death; the 25 year old also took 14 crucial wickets with 7 off them coming in the middle overs, he was the highest wicket taker in the middle overs(by pacers.)

Shreyas Gopal

This young lad had a possible breakthrough season, taking 20 total wickets including 11 middle over wickets which also included crucial wickets such as Kohli and ABD. His deceptive googly definitely adds more to a batsman’s misery.

Khaleel Ahmed

Many of you will definitely be shocked with this surprising pick. But, we have with Khaleel over Bumrah only because this XI is only based on this season’s performances. Khaleel Ahmed played only the 9 matches this season but ended up picking 19 wickets, at a bowling strike rate of 11! Bumrah has been the more economical, yes, but he has played 7 more matches than Khaleel. This is what we believe if you do disagree please mention it below.

Kagiso Rabada

This man had a fantastic season, picking up 25 wickets in just the 12 games, with an economy of 7.82 and a bowling strike rate of 11.28. He was the purple cap holder for much of the season but couldn’t play all the matches to earn it. His selection is not in doubt.

Imran Tahir

The 40 year old surprised evryone with his variations and celebrations. Some may argue that he played most his matches at the Chepauk which helps spinners so he shouldn’t be in this team. But, whether it was home or away he delivered and he also was spinning the wet ball with ease. Hence, the purple cap winner is the last member of our squad.

There it was, ‘The Pakaugiri Team of IPL-12’, if you disagree with few of our choices please tell us in the section below. 

To Follow us, Click:Facebooktwittergoogle_plusyoutubevimeoinstagrammail
To Share this post click:Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.